Qatar Airways: Change Flights

After having experience of “No Show” last year, which in fact change the flight around 3 hours before departure, this year I again changed the flight from Qatar for summer holiday. I and my family initially book the flight on 29 July 2014, but due to miscalculation of Eid day which actually would fall between 28 or 29 July 2014 we decided to change the flight before Eid.

I planned to go to Qatar Airways office to change the flight this morning, wake up in the morning (I hate dealing with crowd, that’s why choosing Saturday, a weekend day, morning time), drive to their main office on airport road (based on previous experience, dealing several time with their branch office near my compound was annoying, the CS was stupid and less cooperative!), and change the flight. I am preparing also to accept the fact that I have to pay some amount of money as the charge fee which might be not cheap since end of July is peak season.

However, based on last year experience, I start to think “Ok, booking Qatar airways through internet is a 5 star class service. Their service is one of the best I experience so far. Modifying the ticket in injury time also easy through phone call as per last year. I am wondering, is it possible to change via internet?”. I browsed the ticket confirmation sitting on my email since 2 months back and found the link to manage the booking.

QA Booking Mail Confirmation

 

After clicking the link “Manage My Booking”, I am sent to “my booking” page where I can find “Change Flights”. The link then brought me to another page to modify the flight dates. After choosing which flight I would like to modify, QA search for the days and fare. Here comes the details:

Flight Schedule Option

The option is based on availability, but as it says, option for ZERO QAR modification fee is there. As a note, my earlier booking was “Economy Restricted”, that is saying even with the lowest price people still have a chance to modify the flight schedule without any charge, as long as seat available. Before this, I heard rumour that “Economy Restricted” at least had to pay sum amount of money to change the flight schedule.

After few clicks and confirmation, QA sent new e-ticket with modified schedule to my email. Easy Peasy.

By using internet service, I can cancel my trip to QA ticket office and I can plan another activity for this morning. This is a new and very important thing for me at least. I am coming from the old days (and…emerging country :p) where modifying a flight ticket means we had to physically come to the ticket office, or at least talk to customer service by phone. I believe for more ‘complex’ scenario customer service involvement are required, i.e for my case above, I might want to change ticket for my wife and kids only. But since I modified for all (which is in one booking code) then it can be done without CS involvement.

 

Fare Notes

I was curious about difference policy in economy class, there are: Economy Restricted, Economy Semi Flexible, Economy Flexible. To understand the difference, I played a bit with above option by choosing different option and see the result. Here’s the difference.

Screen Shot 2014-07-05 at 4.40.42 AM

Above snapshot is for Economy Semi Flexible. The difference between Economy Restricted and Economy Semi Flexible are in “Cancellation before departure” and “Cancelation after departure”, the note written for Economy Restricted is  “Maybe allowed with charges”. So difference between restricted and semi is in the words of: Maybe. Of course “Maybe” is depend on consideration taken by QA for cancelation, but in case we’re taking Semi Flexible then Cancellation would be always possible although with a charge. The interesting points are for the “Changes before/after departures”, on my case just now, no charges given. So the note given here is actually saying “in worst case, changes before departure will be allowed with charges”.

Of course for Economy Flexible, flexibilities are more for ticket holder.

I am a bit intrigued when reading policy above, asking myself “what is the difference between XXX after departure with XXX on no show?”. Doesn’t after departure means no show?! I got the answer after googling on flyertalk forum. The discussion describe what will happened if somebody want to cancel one route of return ticket. Supposed to be on my case, my ticket is a return: Qatar – Indonesia – Qatar, if I want to cancel my return flight Indonesia – Qatar later after arrive in Indonesia then the policy of XXX after departure will be applied. That is saying cancelation / changes after one of the departure happened on the booked ticket.

I remember above situation happened when my parents visited Qatar last year, they initially planned to stay in Qatar for 3 months so they bought a return ticket valid for 3 months from Indonesia, but then their stay in Qatar extended to 1 more additional month. I went to Etihad customer service, and the customer service there said not possible at all to change / cancel the ticket. I ended up buying a new one way ticket Qatar – Indonesia for my parents. I didn’t check the fare policy of Etihad at that time, maybe they don’t have policy of “Cancelation after departure?”

 

Satisfaction = High Quality Services

There is always more to pay with high quality service, the value given by QA services *in Qatar* (not sure if dealing with QA service in my own country) are worth every penny. I usually look into something not only based on its price, price is definitely very important to consider, in the case of QA, flight from Qatar to Indonesia would be cheaper if we’re using different airlines. However, for values such as direct flight (especially when flying with child), high class service offered by QA internet services, or “no show” case I experienced last year which was solved within a minute and required only one phone call, I would consider more QA than any other airlines.

 

10 thoughts on “Qatar Airways: Change Flights

  1. Wow. I never fly with QA but as I read on your articles and others’ as well, QA is definitely one of the best. Even I read they sometimes upgrade passenger’s class to business for free. Amazing.

  2. Hi Msahputra,
    I am considering to cancel my Qatar Air one way flight that has the restrictions below.

    CONDITIONS & INFORMATION Fare: ECORESSGChanges Before departure SGD 50Changes After departure SGD 50Cancellation Before departure SGD 150Cancellation After departure SGD 200No Show SGD 100

    I have read a blog that says you only get refund for the tax. Do you happen to know about this?

    Thanks!

  3. Hi Msahputra, am I right in assuming that you made this change in the same month of the flight?

    I am considering purchasing tickets from QA but am not sure about my return date. The ticket price option I selected says there will be a change fee of 100£ but from your experience it seems it’s possible to change at no costs at all, even though you only change it a month before the departure date. I thought it would be expensive by then.

    Thanks a lot for sharing!

  4. Halo Mr. Sahputra, sy ingin tanya soal tiket Qatar Airlines. Sy baru aja beli 2 tiket return QA, dalam waktu yang tidak berbarengan, Apesnya, salah satu tiket saya beli pas travel fair kemarin lewat travel agent, yg notabene lebih mahal dikit dr webnya, non refundable (harga promo) n parahnya non changeable. Dan ternyata untuk tiket tersebut krn terburu-buru n ga hati2 saya salah pilih tanggal keberangkatan (first leg). Sekarang saya sdg galau2nya, krn hampir tidak mgkn sy bs ganti tanggal keberangkatan tsb (unless miraculous thing happens). Dan ternyata ada peraturan kalo no-show, nanti untuk second leg jg ga bisa dipakai, jadi saya bener2 buang uang 14 juta buat kertas itinerary tiket yg ga bs dipake sama sekali. Sy sdh coba menghubungi kantor QA beberapa kali tapi ga diangkat2. Mas ada masukan buat saya ga ya? berhubung saya jg baru pertama kali pake QA. Sy cukup berharap mas bisa bantu krn sepertinya mas kan frequent flyer, mgkn punya posisi bargain lebih baik kalo ngmg ke pihak QA. Sy siap disuruh nambahin biaya untuk ganti itin tiket sebenernya, asal ga sampe seharga 1 tiket one way yang kena 10 juta. Dan ga fair bgt kayaknya kalo no show di first leg tau2 tiket saya hangus gitu aja, toh sy udh bayar full kan. Segitu kasarnya cara nyari duit.. Apa mas bs bantu bicara ke pihak QA nya mas? tengkyu banget sebelumnya nih…

  5. Hi,

    I have a concern regarding a booking I made and unfortunately we need to reschedule or cancel. I booked two flights under Economy Saver for Qatar and based on fare rules before confirmation, these are the details.
    FARE DETAILSFLIGHT & CABIN FEATURES
    Changes1275 NOKCancellation1700 NOKNo show2124 NOK

    After booking has been confirmed, I received a fare rules document which states different amount.

    Changes: Prior to Departure of first flight

    O/B
    Changes*: Not applicable (See reissue conditions)
    Reissue: Allowed with restrictions
    Penalty fee for ticket reissue between: 0 NOK / 3863 NOK (at today exchange rates 0 NOK / 3863 NOK)
    New travel dates must be prior to: Thursday, February 09, 2017
    Maximum Reissue penalty fee for entire ticket: 3863 NOK
    I/B
    Prior to Departure of first flight
    Changes*: Not applicable (See reissue conditions)
    Reissue: Allowed with restrictions
    Penalty fee for ticket reissue between: 0 NOK / 3863 NOK (at today exchange rates 0 NOK / 3863 NOK)
    New travel dates must be prior to: Thursday, February 09, 2017
    Maximum Reissue penalty fee for entire ticket: 3863 NOK
    Refund conditions

    O/B

    Prior to Departure of first flight
    Refund: Allowed with restrictions
    Penalty fee between: 1717 NOK / 1717 NOK (at today exchange rates 1717 NOK / 1717 NOK)
    Maximum Refund penalty fee for entire ticket: 1717 NOK
    No-show for first flight
    Refund: Not allowed
    After departure of first flight
    Refund: Not allowed
    No-show for subsequent flight(s)
    Refund: Not allowed
    I/B
    Prior to Departure of first flight
    Refund: Allowed with restrictions
    Penalty fee between: 1717 NOK / 1717 NOK (at today exchange rates 1717 NOK / 1717 NOK)
    Maximum Refund penalty fee for entire ticket: 1717 NOK
    No-show for first flight
    Refund: Not allowed
    After departure of first flight
    Refund: Not allowed
    No-show for subsequent flight(s)
    Refund: Not allowed

    It seems that change rules is very much more expensive than cancelling. If I paid for example 12000Kroner for two tickets, how much would cost me a refund? or possible a reschedule? Is the penalty 1717 for both tickets?

  6. I did not show my flight due to some people saying that qatar no flight since june 5 and my flight was june 6 from phil to romania
    I did not ask the qatar coz im i hurry to go back in romania so i bought a new ticket.
    Can i refund my return ticket ..pls help

    1. you can call QA representatives, I am not sure their office in other country, but the one in Qatar itself is very helpful.

      normally, you can check what are the terms for your ticket in ticket itself or booking confirmation. if no show there should be some penalty, and most likely you can refund after deducted by penalty.

Leave a Reply

